FACULTY SENATE

Faculty Senate Meeting Draft Minutes November 20, 2020

Those present: Dr. Odesa Weatherford-Jacobs; Dr. Joyce Eisel; Dr. Warletta Brookins; Dr. John MacDougal; Dr. Candice Idleberg; Gregory Carr; Dr. Shazia Ahmad; Dr. Johndavid Kerr; and Dr. Sandra Leal.

The meeting was called to order at 2: 30 p.m. by Senate President Dr. Odesa Weatherford-Jacobs. Mr. Gregory Carr was welcomed back to the Senate as a Senator for the College of Arts and Sciences. He was applauded for his diligent work in getting the Faculty Tenure Policy, that recognizes the Masters of Fine Arts as a Terminal degree, passed. Mr. Carr indicated that the effort was not his alone and that there were other faculty members impacted, who also played a role in getting the tenure policy passed.

The minutes from the September and October meetings were unanimously approved with corrections.

Dr. Brookins shared her screen to show that the Faculty Senate link is the HSSU main page under administration. The webpage will be updated and information concerning the Senate will be housed there.

Provost Dr. LaTonia Collins-Smith sent a copy of the tenure committee policy, which was distributed to Senate members and Faculty.

After much discussion, it was determined that the Senator would ask Provost Dr. Collins-Smith to have someone from the Tenure Committee present during the Faculty Institute in January. Additionally, it was discussed that a presentation during institute addresses the Faculty Senate's role of shared governance with the university and the rights and privileges that go along with that. The presentation should be a crosswalk of how the Faculty Senate supports Harris Stowe State University. There should also be clarity on the different roles between the Faculty Senate and the union.

It was also discussed that the Tenure Committee should be a standing committee of the Senate. The Senate voted unanimously to ask the university to make the tenure committee a standing committee of the Faculty Senate. Senators provided evidence that in several Missouri Universities the Tenure Committee is a standing committee of the Faculty Senate. The request will be forwarded to Provost Dr. Collins-Smith.

The Faculty Senate vision and mission will be reviewed to determine if they are still relevant or if changes need to made. Faculty will be asked to provide feedback on the current vision and mission prior to the next meeting, where action will be taken.

The Senate was asked to inquire if there will be a second History professor hired in the History Department since this is a requirement for accreditation. There was discussion of the sustainability of programs by possibly adding double majors i.e. History and Education to sustain programs. There was concern the History program was not mentioned in recent university advertisement as a major. These questions will be posed to the Provost for clarification.

It was announced that Senate President Odesa Weatherford-Jacobs and Dr. Warletta Brookins have both been elected to the executive board of the Missouri Association of Faculty Senates.

Dr. Weather-Jacobs was given kudos for receiving the Governor's Award for Teaching Excellence for 2020.

It was moved by Mr. Carr and seconded by Dr. Brookins that meeting be adjourned at 3:50 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted
Warletta C. Brookins, PhD
Recording Secretary
312-533-9382